Posted in In The News, Life

Community

wpid-IMG_180041093663249.jpegYesterday was an emotional day. I don’t know why the 9/11 attacks had such a profound emotional impact on me and even my husband thinks it’s silly that the date gives me the “willies,” but it does. I can’t explain it, I don’t know why, it just does.

On Wednesdays I have to attend college from 9 a.m.-11:30 a.m. and from 6:00 p.m. to 9:20 p.m. It’s a long day and I feel like I don’t really get to see Trubba because of his nap schedule, but I digress. It’s my last semester at the local college and I told myself to suck it up and just do it. Anyhoo…

My morning class is in the library and I pass right by the 9/11 memorial that our college has. I was touched to see that students had been leaving flowers and flags at the site. I wanted to get a picture before I left, but didn’t want to interrupt a girl spending silent time at the memorial so I didn’t.

My night class let us go 20 minutes early last night and as I was driving home I saw two runners running with a large American flag down one of our main streets at 9:11 p.m. and I remembered few of my friends are runners and had met to “Run to Remember” and a moment of silence early that morning. Another local church had held a memorial at 5:30 a.m. (the time that one of the planes hit our time) with a speaker that had been in the towers that morning. And then it hit me:

wpid-20130711_195528.jpgI live in the High Desert of California, specifically the Victor Valley and people like to talk down about this area a lot! A whole lot!! We have amazing sunsets here, the wind blows almost incessantly, and most of the people living here are poor — poor, poor! Can’t pay the bills and can barely feed the family sort of poor, but there IS COMMUNITY HERE if you just take a good look around. They showed it to me yesterday.

So, if you’re complaining that your area doesn’t have a community atmosphere, I challenge you to become a part of it. CHANGE it. Become involved! You may be surprised that there’s others that feel the same way you do.

Leave a Reply

