Posted in Quote of the Week

Cash & Experience

In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins: cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later.

-Harold S. Geneen

This is something every college graduate can relate to. If you want a job, most of the time, you’re going to have to set your pay expectations a bit lower than you anticipated just to get your foot in the door. This was what I experienced when I tried to crack into the paralegal world. Experience was worth far much more than that fancy and embossed piece of paper.

The same can be said for Pink Zebra. I really just fumbled my way through the first month and if I didn’t know the answer to someone’s question I found out FOR them. It’s the way I learn: hands on and lots of research done by myself. Only then do I find it will it stick.

I’ve noticed too as I get older that I need to want to do something if I’m to excel at it. I think that had much to do with spending over a decade in a job I hated and loathed for so long. That has done much to influence my life and academic decisions recently because I’m really just over being miserable and ready to live and work for something more than just a paycheck.

Leave a Reply

