Posted in Quote of the Week

All Dogs Go to Heaven

Will Rogers

If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.

My in-laws had to say good-bye to one of their fur-babies yesterday morning. She was an older dog who’s health had been declining and we knew it was near, but it’s never truly time to say good-bye.

This dog was introduced to the family shortly after my husband and I had started dating in high school. I remembered her as a tiny, goofy, ball of black fur with an affection for the futon in the family room. She was one of those dogs that was content just to sit by my husband during his XBox marathons of Halo. Did I say sit? I meant sleep. 😉

I’ve never believed animals are soulless creatures. Many times as I was growing up, I had the devoted followers in our church tell me different, but my feelings were that if God wanted us happy, he’d have our loyal dogs waiting for us when we got there with their smiling faces and wagging tails. Many years later, although I’ve converted to an Agnostic Theist, I still believe the same.

Leave a Reply

