Posted in Life, Quote of the Week

We Shall Overcome

LL Cool J

You have to always continue to strive no matter how hard things get, no matter how troubled you feel. No matter how tough things get, no matter how many times you lose, you keep trying to win.

I’m not a LL Cool J fan by any means. I’ve seen him act in a few things, I’ve heard some of his music, but never have I been so struck by work of his that I hopped on the fan train-wagon. However, when I Googled quotes about adversity and overcoming it this quote especially struck me and I kept going back to it, so I just knew it was the quote for this week.

I won’t go into detail, but this week has been horrible and highlighted by car issues. Specifically, my car which is the one that we’re still making payments on and it’s no small sum to get it fixed either,. Don’t worry, all the gory details of that are coming up in a future post when I hope we have a few more answers and solutions.

Despite it all, I’ve been keeping my anxiety in check, which is no small feat for me. I’ve also been looking at ways to work around and through this situation rather than give into it. When one solution doesn’t turn out to be a good one, we brainstorm for another. It’s amazing to me how irritated I am, but how I have a certain amount of peace about it all as long as we keep trying. We will win this thing, I’m just not sure how yet.

I’ve also been trying to keep myself busy to keep my mind off of it and since we can’t really spend a whole lot of money, it means I’ve been cleaning, cooking or baking for the most part. I also have the running itch again despite my bad knee, so I think I may give it another shot with a knee brace and on more level ground (our housing track streets are all sloped!) this time and see what happens.

What kind of things do you do when life stresses you?

One thought on “We Shall Overcome

Leave a Reply

