Posted in Adventures In The Kitchen

Cucumber Salad

imageHoly crap! Look at that photo clarity from my new Samsung Galaxy S3!! Woooooow.

Okay, now that my nerd-gasm is over, onto the post…..

I made this cucumber salad today for many reasons. I had produce I needed to get rid of in my refrigerator and I’m making Italian chicken in the crock pot and forgot to pick up baby carrots at the grocery store so the ones I do have, are for Trubba alone because that kid sure does love his carrots! This left the husband and I without much of a veggie plan, so I remembered this recipe I had asked for from my father-in-law. It’s so simple and so yummy!

Cucumber Salad

Dressing:
1/4 C sugar
1/4 C rice vinegar
1 tsp kosher salt

Salad:

2 C cucumber halved and in 1/4″ slices1/2 C red onion
1/4 C chopped cilantro
1 T jalapeño seeded and minced

Um, mix it all together. Although I would advise making the dressing in a cereal bowl or something and then pouring it over the veggies and toss. It gets better if you allow it to set for a bit, but I was eating it right out of the bowl when it was done because I hadn’t eaten lunch yet and it was still pretty great!

2 thoughts on “Cucumber Salad

Leave a Reply

