Posted in Quote of the Week

Gotta Love Grover

Jane Fonda, eat your heart out!

In this house, we watch a crazy amount of Sesame St. Yes, yes. I know! Children shouldn’t watch a crazy amount of television, but Trubba seems to carry on with toys and such despite it and if he stops to just watch it, I turn it off. Anyhoo, Grover is becoming a fast favorite of mine even though I hated him as a child and this quote resonated with me because I’ve been trying to do the Couch to 5K program.

And it’s not working.

No seriously, it’s not. I have good shoes, yet my knee (the same knee I’ve had repeated issues with since I was in Junior High) keeps acting up and giving me a horrible pain for up to 4 days. How the heck am I going to build up any endurance if I can only work out two to three times a week?

So, I think I may take up walking. Speed walking, that is, for our 3 mile circuit instead and hope my body decides to behave itself. Which brings me to my other gripe: Why, oh, WHY does this neighborhood have so many damn hills???? My thighs get a hefty workout pushing Trubba and his jogging stroller up all these hills!

2 thoughts on “Gotta Love Grover

  1. I hear you re: C25K. For me my shins were what caused me pain, with a side of bum ankle to make things interesting. Stretching before and after really alleviated much of the shin pain for me (I found out there were specific stretches to loosen the muscles that run along the outside of the shin bone). It may be something to try if you’re not doing it already.

    YMMV, of course – depending on what in your knee is causing you pain, stretching may not help, but it might be worth a try. Runner’s World has some good articles about what to stretch for specific kinds of injury recovery or avoidance (see http://www.runnersworld.com/health/build-better-knee).

Leave a Reply

