Posted in Life

Mopping

imageI figure many of you, like myself, have been celebrating the unofficial Spring Cleaning Holiday. I must say that living in a small house – 948 square feet to be exact – has cleaning challenges. Yes, I said challenges. Like that irritating person in your class that keeps asking questions that have already been answered challenges.

Clutter seems to plague this small of a floor plan because if just one thing is out of place or not put away, we’ve entered cluttered territory. It’s one of the many reasons we love Ikea due to the ample storage provided by their furniture in the smallest footprint attainable. So, onto the picture explanation….

That colorful fence is the one that divides the living room from the dining and kitchen which is also the “dog” area. I’m not even going to try and count the amount of times we jump over that thing a day. All the toys stacked there are the ones behind the loveseat in the living room and I move ALL of it over the fence so I can sweep and then mop the wood laminate in our living room and it’s the only way I’ve found to effectively get the floor clean during the time Trubba gives me for his nap.

When I mop the kitchen, I move the dining table chairs, the high chair, the dog’s food & water bowls, the dog’s food mat and the trash can outside on the patio. When I mop our bedroom floor, I have to move the dog’s beds into the hallway. If I want to mop Trubba’s room, I need to place a baby gate in his doorway and listen to his protest about being kept away from him for more than two seconds.

Everything in this house is a process. Everything.

♣ ♦ ♠ ♥

There’s just so much more Spring Cleaning to get done and my Spring Break is on the horizon!! Also, please help Leira! She only has 7 more days to meet her goal! ♥

3 thoughts on “Mopping

  1. I feel your pain, I really do! I have a slightly larger home, in terms of square footage and plus we have a basement, or hoarding area to be exact, BUT I understand having to move EVERYTHING in order to clean properly. Thank GOD our Beagle doesn’t shed (much). And although I’m past the time in my life where I’m having babies, I keep my nieces an awful lot so there is the whole high chair thing! That’s a mess in itself. lol

    1. I take magic eraser to ours and absolutely end up destroying one each time. Our retriever sheds quite a lot too, so I’m doomed in that regard as well. Lol. At least he’s only in the dining room and kitchen area now.

      1. Those magic erasers are pretty cool huh? I shred one on my bathtub every week! lol They work SO well but they DO shred to pieces!

        Dog hair… ugh! I have an Alaskan Malamute who has to stay outside for that reason. I wouldn’t mind the hair so much but they have to be groomed constantly in order to not smell like a dead animal. They have double coats and water and oil gets trapped in them and they smell like something I’ve never smelled before. When I got so sick, I stopped being able to groom him and my girls were no help at all. He has a kennel though with a whole lot of room to run and an igloo. Plus we take him out and let him run every day. It still makes me feel bad for him though that he can’t come inside unless it’s night time and we then ave to put him in his crate so he keeps his hair confined. 😦

Leave a Reply

