Posted in Blogging

The Liebster Award

We have a friend that’s a fireman and when he speaks of his higher echelon, he refers to the brass pins on their collars by “flicking” them around his own neck and saying “ting-ting.” I don’t know why, but that’s what I envision when I see the word Liebster. That’s right, kids, I’ve just been promoted!!

Okay, not really, but Ye Olde Humdrum was nominated for The Liebster Award by Rebecca Marshall over at The Dissocial Mom. This is my first ever blogging award and I’m honored to accept such a nomination.  So, here’s the guidelines:

1. The Liebster Award is given by bloggers to bloggers who have less than 200 followers.
2. Each blogger should post 11 random facts about themselves.
3. Each blogger should answer the 11 questions given to you.
4. Choose 11 new bloggers to pass the award on to and link them in your post.
5. Create 11 new questions for the chosen bloggers.
6. Go back to their page and tell them about the award.
7. No tag backs.

I actually found a blog that explains a little bit about the origins of this award, here. So….onto fulfilling the duties.

11 Factoids: (More factoids about me can actually be found on our About Us page.)

♣ I can’t drink alcohol. Literally. If I try to drink anything, it makes me utterly exhausted and knocks me out. Example: half a Smirnoff Twisted has me already weak in the legs. I am not joking.
♣ I always laugh at inappropriate times. Death scene in a movie: laugh. First car accident: Giggled liked a school girl. (Was not my fault, by the way.) Wedding: Nervously chuckled the entire time. It’s a defense and a rather awkward one.
♣ All of my car accidents have been in parking lots and none of them have been my fault. I now creep through parking lots like a paranoid soldier with PTSD expecting a car to come leaping out at me at all times.
♣ I graduated with honors from high school with a 3.8 GPA and yet somehow never received any scholarships or grants I applied for.
♣ Having an aquarium in the house has been a constant item for the last 12 years. I have moved my aquarium set up a total of 3 times and it is a PAIN to do so!
♣ I used to be a constant gamer, but now only really play the Sims 3 and the occasional Halo shoot ’em up with my hubby.
♣ I also used to sleepwalk as a child. Now my husband says I occasionally talk in my sleep and snore. I tell him I don’t snore — I sleep purr.
♣ I actually have a pretty decent green thumb. Provided I have time and motivation, plants generally thrive under my care.
♣ I enjoy scrapbooking, but haven’t had the desire to pull all my stuff out to work on any of our albums for over a year. (Something I’m hoping to remedy on my Spring Break.)
♣ A selfish part of me enjoys taking Trubba places just so I can experience them too. 😛
♣ I still have my Valentine’s Day decorations up. At least it’s not Christmas right??

The 11 questions asked of me:

What motivated you to start blogging?
All the cool kids were doing it. Literally. I actually started blogging on Myspace, slipped up and had a little convo with the family about boundaries, then when Facebook became big and Myspace became tiny, I went to Livejournal, then Blogger, Tumblr, and then came to WordPress.
If you could ask only one thing of your children, what would that be?
Why the frak do you keep shreeking???? Seriously! It needs to stop.
What is your guilty pleasure as a parent?
Ice cream. Trubba will hound me for it if I scoop us some, so I wait until he goes to bed and scrounge it out of the back of our freezer some nights. Yes, yes, mommies (and daddies) should share, but when I’ve shared my morning muffin, half my sandwich for lunch, and any snacks in between I just want a little something to myself, dammit!!
What is your best “go to” dinner when your imagination fails you and you don’t feel like cooking anything else?
Spaghetti. Or, I text my hubby and tell him my “give a sh*t” is broken and he *may* just want to pick something up on the way home from work. That doesn’t happen all that often though and is usually after I’ve had a bad day.
What is your most favorite thing to do during your “kid free” time?
Well, when I’m not hoarding ice cream like Gollum, blogging, or working on homework, I tend to mindlessly stalk people on Facebook or ogle things on Amazon that I couldn’t possibly afford.
What is one inanimate object in your home that you just could not live without and why?
Crap. This isn’t really as clear cut as I think it is. As a stay at home mom, the two most used objects in the house are the laptop and the cell phone to socialize and therefore, keep my sanity. I guess I’d choose the laptop though for the sheer amount of homework I have to complete.
What is your favorite quote of all time?
“There is a war going on for your mind/If you are thinking, you are winning” -The Flobots (Well, that’s just one…that’s why I do the Quotes of the Week.)
Who is your favorite author and why do you love them?
Jodie Picoult, probably. At least, I haven’t met a book of hers that I loathe anyway and she always proposes a moral question of which there’s no clear cut answer. Some of her novels become a bit formulaic, but then she will switch it up in other novels.
What is one thing that you used to love doing as a kid that you still secretly enjoy doing?
Write the alphabet in cursive. I love handwriting and think it’s a lost art, but there’s something about my brain that just loves the process of things. Trubba gets that from me too, I think. He’ll repeat things over and over again until he’s satisfied.
What is the best advice you can give other parents on how to cope with stress?
Xanax….or leave the room when it’s safe to do so and scream, or sulk, or stew. Whatever’s your fancy.

Choose 11 new bloggers to pass the award on to and link them in your post: Ummmm, about this. Eleven is quite a few and if I really link you to 11 different bloggers, it’s going to turn into more of a “I just stumbled on this blog and, yeaaah.” I don’t have the time to really keep up with a lot of blogs either and I don’t even think I have very many “small” blogs in my reader. So, here are the bloggers I’m choosing because they inspire me, amuse me, or both. 🙂

Ratnam Residence – Meghan was my first commenter and she made me realize there’s other bloggers out there. Seriously. I hadn’t even subscribed to anyone on WordPress until she commented on my About Me page.
And That’s All She Wrote – Michelle has been through quite a bit of which, some she’s spoke about. She inspires me.
Running With Maggie – I’m starting to run…emphasis on the starting. Everytime I don’t think I have time for it, I look to this girl and tell myself to shut it and to stop making excuses.
Blog Like A Girl 2.0 – Another high school friend whom I love to read her musings and I’m jealous of her pasta making abilities and career.
**These following blogs may be NSFW. (I only warn because I know some of my followers read on their lunch breaks.)**
 Taco Buffet – Roni’s over on Tumblr and she cracks me up! I’ve known her since High School and she challenges me to look at things a different way even though we may not always agree.
Silk Fishie Soup – Leira is another survivor, truly.

Okay. That’s six. I think I’m good. 😉

Create 11 new questions for the chosen bloggers:

♣ What caused you to start blogging? (I like this question, so I’m keeping it!)
♣ What career did you think you’d pursue while you were growing up?
♣ Who do you think has had the biggest influence on your life?
♣ What kind of games do you like to play? (I don’t care if it’s video, board, or mind games, I’m just curious. ;))
♣ What is your favorite movie?
♣ How did you meet your husband/wife/significant other?
♣ Have you ever had any “unusual” pets? (This may be unusual based on species or attitude.)
♣ How do you unwind at the end of the day?
♣ What is your biggest pet peeve?
♣ What item is to your left?
♣ How do you think of material to blog about?

♣ ♦ ♠ ♥

Holy moly, this entry was long! It hovered right on 1500 words. If you made it this far could you perhaps help Leira? Even just sharing her story would be a huge help. 🙂

15 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. HAHA! I knew you were funny and now I think you’re even funnier and my new hero! I love the Xanex advice to new parents! LMAO Isn’t that the best and most honest advice I’ve ever heard???? Love it! Oh and as for the “selfish” pleasure of taking Trubba somewhere new in order to experience it yourself? We all do that, don’t we? Otherwise what would be the point. That’s how we enjoy time with our little ones,,,,, looking through the eyes of a child.

    Yeah these Liebster awards are an honor, true… but they take a LOT of time, don’t they? For that reason, I haven’t gotten to any of the others (although I’ve only been nominated for the Liebster one other time). Because I love you and I really AM so honored that you chose me, I’m going to work on this one today. BTW… I can’t believe this is your first one! You’re fantastic and such a terrific writer. You’ve been warned, now that I know you’re new to awards, I’m sending them ALL your way and you’ll get to start turning them down because you don’t have time. lol

    Congratulations and thanks for taking the time to let us know you a little more. LOVED your factoids!!!!!

    1. Thank-you. You warm my heart! I need to find more people to follow so I can nominate different people all the time.

      I’m not a HUGE proponent of Xanax, but it does have a purpose. It was the only thing that allowed me to get any sleep when my anxiety was so high from work. Now that I’m not working, I haven’t had to use it, but I have disappeared to another room on occasion to calm myself back down. I’m sure all parents have needed a “time out” at one point or another so I try to take mine when it gets to the breaking point with me. It makes me a better and more fair parent in the end, I think. 🙂

      1. You’re a very smart mommy to recognize and admit when you need a break. Also ABSOLUTELY right that you’re a more fair parent when you give yourself a time out. I wish I would have taken more time outs when I was raising my older girls. I used to think that I could do it all and when I COULDN’T, I’d turn into a crabby monster mommy. No fair to anyone.

      1. It’s taken me all morning… It does take a bit, doesn’t. I feel pretty lazy today and haven’t gotten out of my pj’s. This gave me a reason to stay in bed and write. lol Good thing the kiddo is off school and feeling lazy too 🙂

  2. Awe! Thank you for the nomination – was I really your first comment!? That’s too cool. I’ll re-blog the award next week… gotta think about those questions first…

    1. Yes, you were! ^_^ No hurry. I should have done this one next week and done homework instead the past couple of days. Spring Break can’t come soon enough. I’m so ready for a break!!

Leave a Reply

