Posted in Quote of the Week

Until Tuesday

-Luis Carlos Montalván with his service dog, Tuesday.

In the last year alone, I had written editorials and opinion pieces for the major newspapers like the Denver Post, the New York Times, and the San Francisco Chronicle on war issues and veterans affairs, and with such big things on my mind I found it difficult to switch to local zoning laws and disputes over how much car horn honking was too much. my god, I wondered, don’t these people understand we are at war?

Every once in awhile, I pick up an autobiography that changes my way of thinking or inspires me. This autobiography has already done that and I’m not even half way through reading Until Tuesday. This particular quote I pulled from his frustrations at a college course Montalván was taking that focused itself on current and very local events while he continually focused on what was happening in Iraq since that is where he’d served for so many years. It is absolutely amazing to me how people (myself included) become so focused on such myopic things, and I’ll be the first to admit, I didn’t think much of the war(s) until my brother enlisted in the Navy and then it was like they were right on my horizon.

This novel is also cementing my thoughts to either wanting to work with service dogs or with Veterans. I know I’m probably crazy, but I see quite a bit of good I could do with either of these, I just don’t know how. This would definitely be a few years down the line as Trubba and school take up so much of my time now that I wouldn’t be able to devote myself whole heartedly to anything more, but it’s definitely something to think about.

♣ ♦ ♠ ♥

Remember to check out (and help) Leira if you can!

Leave a Reply

