Posted in Life

Cleaning House

Cute kitty is needed!!

I’m not talking about cleaning house as in your physical house, but do you ever go through your Facebook friends list and just start kicking people off? It’s like that scene out of Half Baked. Y’know, that scene, and in case you don’t know what I’m talking about, here’s the cleaned up version: “Screw you, screw you, screw you, you’re cool and screw you! I’m out!”

I’m also not talking about ridding yourself of someone because you don’t like what they have to say. You are simply just sick of all that negativity bringing you down. I’ve been doing a lot of that recently too. Now that I’m out of the workplace, I’m starting to clearly see what toxic relationships there were and what ones I want to rid myself of. There were several awesome relationships started there, don’t get me wrong, but there’s also the users, abusers, and outright jerks I just don’t want to associate with anymore.

This brings us back to bullying which I’ve spoken about before. The bully that used to just rhyme your name with unflattering things on the playground grows up to be a corporate bully sometimes. The one that expects loyalty without it being earned, contacts you on private lines (cell phone, email, etc) wondering why you’re not at work even though you’ve already given reason, and can’t take criticism when it’s dealt, but they’ll give it to you in spades. These are the ones that can’t understand the definition of harassment if it hit them in the face. They’re the ones you accept friend requests from because you don’t want to hear the fallout from not doing so at the workplace. Thankfully, Facebook makes it easy to leave them out of your feed anyway and you out of theirs, but goodness!!

So, that’s where I am this week. Ending some toxic relationships so I don’t want to strangle people through my computer screen anymore.

♣ ♦ ♠ ♥

Remember to check out (and help) Leira if you can! Also, finished up my Inheritance book review over on Ye Olde Bookshelf!

3 thoughts on “Cleaning House

  1. I frequently have a Facebook cull – not so much because of bullying (which I don’t think *I* have ever encountered in the workplace thank God – went through a lot of it at school, but that was the 70s, it was just a way of life) but because I’ve just grown out of people, and they have started to get on my wick as I find that they really don’t have anything interesting to say. And often a LOT of it 😉

    (PS – that pic is the wallpaper on my daughter’s phone, so made me smile!)

    1. I swear I responded to this yesterday!! I’ve noticed that some of my friends have nothing to say, but I’m also just sick of ones that constantly tear me down or criticize our area. We don’t live in the “best” of areas – in fact, many are pretty poor and most don’t take care of their yards, etc – but I wish some would stop complaining and be the change they want to see rather than give in to all the negativity. 🙂

      And I thought that kitty was pretty dang cute and appropriate for this post. Lol. Your daughter has good taste!

Leave a Reply

