Posted in Adventures In The Kitchen

First Attempt At Polpetti

imageLeft over mashed potatoes. I’m never quite sure what I should do with them, but since I had to cook off a bunch of baby reds that were spouting more eyes than is what exactly desirable in a potato, I sure had plenty of them. So, to the internet I went and I turned up Polpetti.

Since I’m one of those freaks that has things on hand to cook with at the house now, I actually had everything I needed in the refrigerator. NO trip to the grocery store needed!! This has become an actual bonus since it seems to be where I spend the majority of my free time any more. I am le loser. 😉

These came out pretty yummy and I served them with more of my lemon chicken, broccoli and a romaine salad. There are a few things I would do differently though:

♣ I used to fry things daily at work, so I had no reservations about dumping a quarter of a cup of olive oil into the pan and just dumping the patties right in there. Next time, I’ll put enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan and refresh as needed. The first two victims patties absorbed quite a bit of oil and were too oily for my tastes.
♣ PATIENCE! I am a horribly impatient cooker especially when I’m hungry. These patties need a little time to crisp up and tan a bit before being flipped and then removed from the pan.

Might I also add, this is not a dieter’s recipe. Between the milk and butter in the potatoes from the day before and then the added parmesan with this, um….diet blown. BLOWN! The rest of the meal was healthy right??

2 thoughts on “First Attempt At Polpetti

Leave a Reply

