Posted in Adventures In The Kitchen, Parenting

Blueberry Muffins

imageI’ve been waiting to try this recipe for blueberry muffins that my husband’s grandmother gave me when we visited her in Florida earlier this year. Berries are not cheap in my area unless they’re in season, so I had to wait…and wait…and wait some more.

Finally, these past couple of weeks, the containers of blueberries went on sale, so I was able to justify the cost and bought some. The first time I bought them, Nibbler ate most of the first pack and then with that horrible cold, he coughed hard enough to throw them all back up within an hour of going to bed. Gosh, I felt so sorry for that poor little guy. Sadly, after that occurred he had an aversion to the little blue fruit, but that sure didn’t stop me…I bought more.

And last night when I was freezing my toesies off due to our new cold front, I made blueberry muffins to heat the house above where we keep our thermostat…because our 1970s stove an excellent secondary heater since it has NO isolation on the door to keep the heat in. Sure it was 9:30 at night, but I wpid-IMAG0744.jpgwas freaking cold!

They turned out beautifully (my toes also defrosted!) and they taste better today than they did fresh last night — a first for me since I usually much prefer my pastries warm out of the oven.  The best part? It cured Nibbler’s aversion to blueberries. He gobbled the muffin up like a muffin-starved-lunatic and he also ate a couple handfuls of berries for “dessert” tonight after dinner.

I think he’s finally feeling better! Thank the laaawrrrd!

**Update** Added a link to the recipe. In case you missed it, click here!

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

  1. I love blueberry muffins! You’re not going to share the recipe? lol BTW…. I’m praying for you to the god’s of stoves that someone gives you at least a 1980’s model! lol

    1. Ahahahaha. You’re telling me! I think the landlord will leave us with this one until we leave or it dies.

      Maybe I should start a page with recipes since I’m all about drop down menus now. 😛

      1. Oh you should DEFINITELY start a page for recipes! I haven’t mastered drop down menus yet. lol Not even really sure what you’re talking about (because I’m pretty computer illiterate 😦 )

        Sometimes, all I do is look for new or interesting recipes on blogs so I’ll bet you’ll get more traffic! Have a great weekend!

      2. I’m pretty computer nerdy. I built the one I game on, heh. Does that scream “NERD” or what? It definitely would generate more traffic, but many of the ones I use are published and I’d be afraid of treading on copyrights.

        I hope you have a great weekend too! Thanks for chatting with me so much recently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

