Posted in Life

Home Project – Broken Blinds

There always comes a time in a home owner/renters life where something happens that just needs to be fixed right away.  While I was enjoying some down time playing The Sims 3, I heard a popping noise and then plastic falling which was followed by a soft “sproing.”  I turned to find this:

Of all the things to go wrong, it just had to be the front facing window so the whole street could peep into our living room.  I don’t know about you, but I like my privacy and the idea of putting on a play for the whole neighborhood like Rear Window was just not in the cards, so this project had to be done right away.

Thankfully, replacing the window coverings were already on my projects on the back burner, so we had all the supplies in the house to do it.  However, we also had to go bid farewell to a family member who has to relocate several miles away for a well-earned teaching position. This meant I didn’t get started on shortening the curtains from IKEA until after Nibbler was safe in bed and I had time to settle down with an ironing board and an iron until it was 9 at night.  This meant we were up until midnight with this little project — Oh goody!  But the end result was well worth it:

The shades are actually purple and considered “black out” curtains so it keeps the living room nice and cool during the hot summer mornings.  I open the drapes in the afternoon when the sun is on the other side of the house and the light streams in through the light airy back curtains.  I love it and it’s changed the whole feel of the living room/play room.  It’s funny how such a little thing can make things so different.

Leave a Reply

