Posted in Life, Parenting

Weeks 12 & 13

Clearance on OldNavy.com has become my weakness. 😛

It’s been a busy couple of weeks and I’ve been unable to actually sit down and collect my thoughts enough to add a post about Nibbler’s progress and life in general.  I’ve been reading a lot though on my lunch hour at work and as I finish novels it’s easier to write a post while the book is fresh in my mind, so that’s where my attention has been going.  Anyhow, onto weeks 12 and 13!

Week twelve brought along quite a bit of cooking.  There comes a point at which you’re sick and tired of eating fast food all the time.  My friend turned me onto some avacado & cilantro dressing which lead me to chicken tacos, which then lead on to baking tilapia, making soups, etc.  Week thirteen brought the return of fast food since we’ve both been working nights until 8/9 PM and it’s just too hectic to try to put a baby to bed after picking him up late from the sitters, fix dinner, and go to bed by 10 PM because you know the baby is going to have the whole household up at 6 AM the next morning.  You win some battles and you lose some.

Somewhere in these weeks, Nibbler also grew out of his 0-3 month clothing.  This also happened to coincide with Old Navy’s winter clearance so I was able to pick up quite a few outfits for really cheap (score!).  We also went to the doctors (yes, our insurance nightmare concerning Nibbler has finally been resolved) and found out why none of his clothes fit anymore.  At thirteen weeks he’s a whopping 15 pounds already!  That’s in the top 95th percentile for weight which is craaaazy considering he was considered to have lost too much weight in the first week of life.  Well, he gained it all back kids…on breastmilk at that so don’t tell me I’m “overfeeding” my child.  Mother nature did it — blame that skank!  Immunizations went as to be expected.  Three shots to the thigh and one to drink.  He took it like a champ and I was the one that wanted to cry.  😥

At week thirteen I finally returned to work.  Not by choice, mind you, but by necessity.  If I didn’t return to work by January 27, I was going to find myself among the unemployed (I would have met my employer’s six month disability limit) and although I’m looking for different employment, I need something to pay the bills in the meantime.  Damn creature comforts and the car note!!!

And boy am I tired.  This little man is still waking up every two hours and combined with work, I just feel exhausted all the time.  Thankfully, my new department head didn’t put me back on the 3 AM shifts I was working before and instead put me on days and afternoons.  I really can’t conceive how I’d work those early morning shifts anymore and still be able to function on even less sleep.

Leave a Reply

