Posted in Life, Pregnancy

In a few days….

It’s been quite a few days since I last blogged here on WordPress.  Funny how much has changed.

Two weeks ago, I was suffering from some rather annoying and constant lower back pain.  Aching enough so that it would wake me up in the middle of the night and I found myself sitting against walls trying to straighten out my back and help my posture, which seems to help.  Finally, afraid of my family’s inherently bad backs, I made an appointment with my primary doctor.  He examined my back, asked me if I had this sort of pain before, ordered a back X-Ray and then asked if I was pregnant.

“Erm…I don’t know.”

So, before the back X-Ray I needed to wait for a blood pregnancy test to come back.  No biggy, right?  And thus began the longest week of my husband and my life.  Mind you, we’ve been trying to get pregnant since November, so the whole week we’re wondering if it’s already happened or if I really am going to start having back issues like everyone else in my family.  Keeping busy with work and school wasn’t exactly keeping me busy enough to shut my brain off, but it was keeping me busy enough to hardly get anything done, if that makes any sense.  The following Wednesday we got the call that the test was positive.  What followed was a wave of emotions:

  • I wanted to cry.
  • I wanted to run around my car in joy (I answered the phone in my bank’s parking lot).
  • I thought we’d have more time considering how long I’ve been on the pill.
  • I couldn’t text my husband fast enough (he was at work).
  • I wanted to have a panic attack.
  • I wondered if we truly knew what the heck we had gotten ourselves into.

And then I found myself wondering if every new soon-to-be parent feels that way?  I’m sure there’s going to be a thousand more questions between now and 18 years from now.

Viggo starred in the film adaption of The Road.

After my first prenatal appointment this past week, I also landed myself on 2 weeks of disability.  This is a good and a bad thing.  Good because now I have plenty of time to catch up on all my school work and all my school related reading.  I’ve also got 2 leisure books going at this time; 1984 by George Orwell (by request of my husband) as well as The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks, so there should be more book reviews coming. I may even hit up The Road by Cormac McCarthy which I read not that long ago and it still haunts my mind.  The bad side to my disability??  The lack of a paycheck because here in the US, disability pay doesn’t kick in until you’ve been off work for 2 weeks or more.  Gonna miss that money.  I’ll probably exhaust my paid sick days at work though so I can maintain my health benefits without having to navigate the paper work through our Union.  Thank goodness we finally caught up and got ahead on the bills.  It is truly amazing sometimes how things have their way of working themselves out.

 

5 thoughts on “In a few days….

    1. Very scary indeed. As a child I was never around babies and that’s honestly only been remedied recently (I’m in my late 20s now). Friends keep saying they’re praying for us and I insist they pray for the baby because s/he’s going to need it. Haha.

      1. I still feel sorry for my daughter as I’m not sure when I’m going to be grown up enough to have a child. She’s 11 1/2.

        Poor bint. 😉

        And as for having enough time to get used to the idea – I feel pregnant within 2 weeks of stopping taking the pill!

Leave a Reply

